Fred A. Brown receipt for "schooling" dated November 24, 1823

Fred A. Brown receipt for "schooling" dated November 24, 1823

$5.00 Rutherford Nov. 24th 1823 Recd John Logan Esq. Five Dollars, the amount of his subscription and schooling in full.

Fred A. Brown

I haven’t blogged in the past several days because I was out of town on business, but also because I spent some time trying to learn more about Fred A. Brown and I could find nothing on him. It frustrates the heck out of me, but the is the very reason why I think it is best to blog about these documents instead of trying to peddle them in a book like so many others would. Hopefully someone out there can shed a little light on Mr. Brown.

I assume that Fred might be a schoolmaster. I was hoping that I could at least learn more about the schools in Rutherford County, NC around the 1820s but I didn’t have much luck with that either. I live in a town in eastern North Carolina called Whiteville and the oldest structure in the town is the Reuben Brown House. Coincidentally enough, Reuben Brown was schoolmaster for the Whiteville Academy subscription from 1869-1870. While I was searching for a schoolmaster named Fred Brown online, it pulled up information about the Reuben Brown house.

If I hadn’t seen the term “Whiteville Academy subscription” I might have also pegged Fred as a newspaper man as well as I certainly wanted to learn more about what “subscription” meant in this document. A subscription school was one that was supported by wealthy families who paid a “subscription”.

A couple of John Logan’s children would have been school-age when this receipt was written. Lawson was 11, George was 8 and John might have been too young at 4. I guess one might assume that the subscription was $2.50 per child and I’m not sure if this would have been on a monthly or yearly (seasonal) basis.

Please leave a comment below if you have additional information about Fred A. Brown or subscription schools (particularly in Rutherford County) that you would like to share.

About the Logan Project: I possess a box of 170 documents passed down 6 generations in the Logan family that originate from John Logan (1775-1841) of Rutherford County, NC. These documents are mainly receipts that show the various business and legal dealings of many different families from Rutherford County, NC. I will be posting these documents on this blog in chronological order. The scanned images of these documents are the copyright of Jonathan Medford. Do not redistribute these documents for the purpose of commercial gain without his expressed written permission.

Previous Post: John Logan 1823 Tax Receipt

Next Post: David Hill Receipt January 17, 1824

