Miller Receipt December 6, 1827

Miller Receipt December 6, 1827

Received Charleston Dec 6 1827 from Mr. McEntire Fifty Dollars on a/c of John Logan

Miller Ripley & Co.

P Jn Weller

First off, Them Medfords Blog had over 100 page views yesterday! Pretty cool! I started working on this receipt yesterday and I could not find any information on Ripleys and Wellers in Rutherford County, NC. I also had a hard time deciphering the second word in this document. I started thinking about who this Mr. McEntire could be and so I did a search on my blog and came across the profile I did on Dr. John McEntire. Then it hit me that Dr. McEntire studied in Charleston, SC and that second word looked an awful lot like Charleston. That’s why the Ripley and Weller names were elusive to me.

This would suggest to me that Dr. McEntire was in Charleston, SC for a period of time around 1827. Being owed a considerable sum from Mr. McEntire, John Logan likely would have hired an attorney or other agent in SC to collect this from him.

Almost all of these receipts are labeled on the back and I try to use this same label in the title. That’s why I call this the Miller Receipt. I thought he named this after one of the possible attorneys “Miller Ripley”. After all, there appears to be some kind of title at the end of his name.

It turns out that Miller Ripley isn’t a person after all. It is the Miller, Ripley & Co. which is a dry goods merchant with operations in Charleston and New York. This company was owned by Horatio Miller, Samuel P. Ripley, George N. Miller and Henry C. Bissell). They bought a site on 290-292 King St. in 1833-34 and had a double building erected by John Gordon in 1834. lt was destroyed in the great fire of 1838. The double building was immediately rebuilt, reusing the common wall from the burned structure. The two halves were subsequently remodeled from their original Greek Revival appearance. (source: Charles County Public Library)

So here I was thinking that Dr. McEntire was skipping town without settling his debts with John Logan, and here he is on a trip to Charleston and buying some dry goods on John Logans behalf! You really have to think these things through!

I assume what appears to be P. Jn. Weller is an employee of Miller, Ripley & Company. I haven’t been able to find any information on him. Weller is not a popular name in South Carolina but it is in New York. Perhaps he is an employee with a connection with their New York office.

Please leave a comment below if you have any additional info on Miller, Ripley & Co., P. Jn. Weller or Dr. McEntire.

About the Logan Project: I possess a box of 170 documents passed down 6 generations in the Logan family that originate from John Logan (1775-1841) of Rutherford County, NC. These documents are mainly receipts that show the various business and legal dealings of many different families from Rutherford County, NC. I will be posting these documents on this blog in chronological order. The scanned images of these documents are the copyright of Jonathan Medford. Do not redistribute these documents for the purpose of commercial gain without his expressed written permission.

Previous Post: John Logan Sr. 1825 Taxes September 11, 1826
Next Post:
B.H. Carson receipt to J. Logan September 14, 1829

