Posted in Bradley, Logan, Ricketts

Walton Bradley Note October 15, 1811

Walton Bradley note from October 15, 1811
Walton Bradley note from October 15, 1811

Received of John Logan fore dollars in full of All Demands which me or my son James Bradley has against him this 15th Of October 1811

Walton Bradley

Robert Rickets (X his mark)

I would like to receive confirmation from a genealogist more familiar with the Bradley family than I am, but I believe that this Walton Bradley is George Walton Bradley. Walton was born in Bute County, NC (this county is now Warren County) in 1765. He married to Sarah A. “Sally” Goodbread in Sparta, TN on 15 Jan 1791. This George Walton Bradley did have a son named James Terry Bradley born between 1792 and 1794 in Rutherford County, NC.

I think the Robert Rickets who witnessed this note was Robert N. Ricketts who was living in Knox County, TN in 1850. He married to Fanny Lunsford in Rutherford County, NC on July 5, 1827.  The bondsman was Daniel Lunsford. At the time of this receipt John Logan was about 36, James Bradley about 19, Walton about 46 and Robert was about 26.

Please post a comment below if you have additional information about Robert Rickett or Walton and James Bradley.

About the Logan Project: I possess a box of 170 documents passed down 6 generations in the Logan family that originate from John Logan (1775-1841) of Rutherford County, NC. These documents are mainly receipts that show the various business and legal dealings of many different families from Rutherford County, NC. I will be posting these documents on this blog in chronological order. The scanned images of these documents are the copyright of Jonathan Medford. Do not redistribute these documents for the purpose of commercial gain without his expressed written permission.

Previous Post: Noble Hamilton Note April 1811

Next Post: John Logan Bastardy Note November 11, 1811

Author:

Jonathan Medford is an experienced genealogist who specializes in researching North Carolina records. Contact him at jon@medfordgenetics.com.

12 thoughts on “Walton Bradley Note October 15, 1811

  1. I am a decendent of John Bradley and Mary Ledbetter, they are the parents of George Walton Bradley, George W. had a brother named James Terry. born 1774, married Clara Elliot. I decend thru George W.’s brother, Isaac Bradley, born 1772, died 1855, married Sarah Coxey,( 2nd wife) 10 Jan. 1814. Isaac and Sarah’s 4th child was named George Walton,born 1821, Burke Co. NC, he married Elizabeth Hancock in 1841, This George Walton was my 4th Gr. Grandfather. I would love to have a copy of this paper if possible.
    I have some info on the Bradleys but am always looking for more!!
    I would love to hear from you, My husband and I spent about a month last Oct. in NC going to old Family Cemeteries and court houses looking for info.
    Thank – You
    Shirley Little

    1. Please email me in reference to the Bradley line, I am researching James Bradley b. 1771 Rutherford County, His wife Mary Polly possibly Norton, their children, Andrew Damascus, Nancy Elizabeth, Joshua, and Samuel.
      victoriastacy@yahoo.com
      Thank you.

    2. Do you have any info on the family of Hugh Bradley born in1773 and was married 1804 in Rutherford Co., NC. He is buried in Gallatin Co., IL. He is my ggggrandfather. Thank your in advance.

  2. Shirley,

    Thank you very much for leaving a comment. You are more than welcome to save a copy of the document. You should be able to download it by clicking on the image above, then right click and save as. Let me know if you have trouble with this and I will email it to you.

    I had previously seen that the Walton from this document had a nephew by the same name so I had to be careful not to confuse the two.

    I love hearing about genealogy trips. Where did you travel from to make that trip?

    Thanks!
    Jonathan

  3. i am doing research on my Bradley line and all information i have collected has them concentraed to the Northampton,Bertie,Halifax,Hertford county area of North Carolina. i am direct descandant of Cordy J Bradley of Northampton, N.C.,b.1848 and Mary A Edwards, Cordy was son of Jodesph A Bradleyof Northampton,N.C., b.1825 and Eliza Futrell. all family info i have researched has pointed to these pepole, so i am confident up to this point. however, i cannot get past this point. any info you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

  4. Christopher,

    The first comment from Shirley stated that this George Bradley was from Bute, NC and that his father was a John Bradley. Bute County, NC no longer exists but it was located in the same area as your ancestor. This John is “supposedly” the son of an Edward Bradley but this does not appear to be proven according to the Bradley Y-DNA project website.

    Since you are a male Bradley I would urge you to join the Bradley Y-DNA project: http://www.familytreedna.com/public/bradley/default.aspx?section=results

    If I come across any information on your line I will certainly let you know.

    Thanks for reading and happy hunting!

    Jonathan

  5. I am a descendant of the BROTHER of Robert N. Rickett; that brother’s name was John Rickett, born 1790 in Maryland; shortly thereafter the family came to Burke Co. (now McDowell Co., near Old Fort). Robert N Rickett, John Rickett, Burch Rickett, William Rickett (plus other sons) and at least two sisters, Sarah and Elizabeth were the children of Robert Rickett (1750’s? to 1801) and Ellendar (Eleanor) Allison Rickett (1760-1801)–she was the daughter of Richard Allison and Sarah Cheshire Allison. John Rickett, brother of Robert N Rickett, lived in NC all his life, dying in Old Fort, NC in May, 1869. Burch Rickett married and stayed several years in NC before moving to northern Georgia after 1840 where he has a large group of descendants. I have researched the Rickett family over 30 years, and I have NOT proved the father of Robert Rickett (who was the father of Robert N Rickett); this Robert who died in 1801 was NOT the son of a Jacob Rickett who was the son of a Benjamin Rickett. I, too, would like a copy of the note. Thank you for putting this note on the internet and making it possible for me to see it and to respond to it!

  6. FROM THE BOOK “BRADLEY OF VIRGINIA AND THE SOUTH” BY WENDELL H. BRADLEY
    AND PRIVATELY PUBLISHED IN INDINAPOLIS, IN. IN 1994:

    “An abstract of the first article carried the valuable genealogical
    information:

    In the year ____ (1) Richard Bradley (2) Richard Ledbetter (3) William
    Harris (4) George Ledbetter (5) Jones Williams (6) Wm. Elliott (7) (8)
    (9) Walton, John and Isaac Bradley, three brothers. (10) James
    Humphreys and (11) Widow Jones with their families and several slaves,
    came from Virginia and settled here in the cove when not a stick of
    timber was amiss.

    My question is: what happened to Walton for whom George Walton is obviously named with George Walton’s father a brother to the “original” Walton.

  7. There is a John Bradley Sr. born around 1776-1779. He was from Bute County North Caroline. He is my 6th great-grandfather, I am tracking my family history on his side and the information yall have posted sounds promising to what I have collected so far. I would love to have a copy of the note. Also, Shirley Little I would love for you to email me and see if any information you have might match up to mine, Please emial me at blonde_southerncutie93@yahoo.com. Thank you this is really important to me.

  8. You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation however I find this topic to be actually something that I feel I might by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very broad for me. I’m taking a look ahead for your next submit, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  9. George Walton Bradley was, indeed, married to Sarah Goodbread. However, their marriage was in NC, and their children were born in NC. When George Walton Bradley died, he was buried – according to information I have received from family researchers – on their farm which, today, is land not far distant from Lake Lure. Following her husband’s death, his widow, Sarah Goodbread Bradley, and the families of a couple of her children – my ancestor, James Terry Bradley married to Mary Morris – moved to White County, TN. Sarah Goodbread Bradley died in White County, TN and her gravesite is known and can still be visited and viewed.

Leave a Reply

