Posted in Alley, Bowen, Callahan, Logan

Joseph Bowen receipt for execution against Henry Calihan October 22, 1820

Joseph Bowen receipt for execution against Henry Calihan October 22, 1820
Joseph Bowen receipt for execution against Henry Calihan October 22, 1820

Recd of John Logan eighteen Dollars on an execution against Henry Calihan bought by me of F.F. Alley this 22nd day of October 1820

Jo Bowen

These receipts are sometimes difficult to discern their purpose. Part of the reason why I am working through these documents publicly on this blog is so that I can collaborate with other researchers out there. So please feel free to offer me your interpretation in a comment below.

I think that there must have been a court case of Frederick F. Alley vs. Henry Calihan where Frederick won a judgment against Henry Calihan. Now let’s back track to my previous post about Frederick and recall the following paragraph:

“He was buried in , Fl. He was Sherif of Rutherford Co. January 1814 – Oct 1820. Alley defaulted and his bondsmen, Allen Twitty, Johnson Ledbetter, John H. Alley [his brother], Joseph H. Glover, Abraham Crow, James Crow and John Lewis. They reimbursed the county for losses sustained, but at the sacrifice of their own personal fortunes.” Griffin Pg. 168. SOURCE: Roberta Rose.

This this gets interesting! Frederick was Sheriff of Rutherford County, NC from 1814 until October 1820 when he defaulted. This receipt is dated October 22, 1820. Now either Frederick owed Joseph Bowen money or Frederick was skipping town and liquidating his assets, so he apparently sold his judgment on Henry Calihan to Joseph Bowen. Apparently John Logan helped Joseph recoup money on this judgment.

Henry Callahan was born between 1754 and 1759. He married Elizabeth McMurray. He died in Rutherford County on August 1, 1830. Henry was the son of John Callahan who was born about 1720 (possibly in Ireland), and died about 1766 in Rowan County, North Carolina [source].

Joseph Bowen was a merchant in Rutherfordton, born in 1789. In 1820 her married Mildred C. Twitty, daughter of William and Frances Twitty. She was born in 1799, was about five feet high, with black hair and eyes. They were a member of the Methodist church [source]. Mildred’s brother married John Logan’s first cousin Mary Logan, daughter of his brother Frances Logan.  I’ll let you think about that one for a while. Joseph and Mildred had two children together: Mary Frances Bowen, born in 1822; married Dr. William Anderson, Sr., by whom she had one son (Dr. William Anderson, Jr., who married Georgiana Deal, of Hollidaysburg, Pa). Their son was Thomas Joseph Bowen who was born on August 2, 1824. HE was living with his mother and step-father (John Wilkins) in 1860 in Rutherford County. In 1870 he was living with his sister Mary F. Anderson. He died on September 10, 1879 and was buried in Twitty/Miller, Mountain Creek, Rutherford Co., North Carolina.

Here is Joseph Bowen’s Will (written 24 Sep 1825 and recorded Oct 1825):

In the name of God Amen. I Joseph Bowen of Rutherford county and state of North Carolina, calling to mind the uncertainly of life and the certanty of death, do make and declare this my last will and testament in maner and form following.

First – I give and devise all the lands I received by my beloved wife, Milley, to her in fee simple.

Second – I give and bequeath to my beloved wife the negro girl Mary, which she had at our marriage to have and to hold the said girl, Mary as her own separate and absolute property forever.

Third – I give and bequeath to my beloved wife, Milley, and our two children Mary Ann and Thomas, any increase or children which the said negro girl Mary may have. To have and to hold the said increase as tenant in common, and to be equally divided between them upon either the arrival of our oldest child at twenty one years, the marriage of my daughter or wife.

Fourth – I give and bequeath all the personal property of every description including three hundred dollars and interest on that sum from the first day of May 1823, which I received upon the marriage of my wife, to be her absolute property forever.

Fifth – I will and direct that all my interest in Land and lots, not before mentioned and belonging to the firm of Reinhardt, Bowen and Co., be sold in twelve months on a credit of not less than one year and not more than five years; and all property not received by my wife belongs to the firm and further all debts and credits ____ing the same are due to, or owing from the firm, whether in my individual name or under the signature of the Firm.

Sixth – I give and bequeath all my plans, hand saw and iron square to my brother in law Robert G. Twitty.

Seventh – I desire all the goods in the store to be sold in twelve months on such terms as my representation and the rest of the firm may think best.

Eighth – I desire that all my other property not before mentioned be sold.

Ninth – I wish all my part of the proceeds of the sales of goods in the store and debts due the firm together with all other monies accruing from the sale of my property after payment of Debts, to be equally divided amongst my beloved wife, Milley and our two little children, Mary Ann and Thomas.

And finally – I appoint my trusty friend Robert G. Twitty to be the Executor of this my last will and testament. In witness whereof I have affixed my seal and set my hand the 24th day of September 1825. In presence of Jacob Michal Jos. Bowen O___? B. Irvine [source]

Joseph must have known his time was coming soon because he died on October 1, 1825, just 8 days after writing his will. He was buried in Twitty/Miller, Mountain Creek, Rutherford Co., North Carolina.

If you have any info about Joseph Bowen, Henry Callahan, or Frederick Alley, please post a comment below.

About the Logan Project: I possess a box of 170 documents passed down 6 generations in the Logan family that originate from John Logan (1775-1841) of Rutherford County, NC. These documents are mainly receipts that show the various business and legal dealings of many different families from Rutherford County, NC. I will be posting these documents on this blog in chronological order. The scanned images of these documents are the copyright of Jonathan Medford. Do not redistribute these documents for the purpose of commercial gain without his expressed written permission.

Previous Post: Adam Whiteside receipt for horse and slave December 21, 1818
Next Post:
James Humphreys receipt October 19, 1821

Author:

Jonathan Medford is an experienced genealogist who specializes in researching North Carolina records. Contact him at jon@medfordgenetics.com.

3 thoughts on “Joseph Bowen receipt for execution against Henry Calihan October 22, 1820

Leave a Reply

