Posted in Humphries, Jones, Logan

James Humphreys receipt October 19, 1821

James Humphrey's receipt October 19, 1821
James Humphrey's receipt October 19, 1821

Oct 19th 1821

Recd of W. [Pickins?] one note on Jonah Jones for collection of Ten dollars $10

Jas Humphreys Const.

The most unusual thing to me about this receipt is that it has nothing to do with John Logan. There must be some kind of connection there, I just don’t know what it is. Why would he have this receipt? Apparently [W. Pickins?] had a note against Jonah Jones and he sold it to James Humphries or gave it to him as a form of payment. Perhaps John Logan then purchased this from James Humphreys.

James Humphries
I wasn’t able to find a lot of information on the origins of James Humphries but luckily a Humphries researcher named Casey Humphries gave us a little insight on James in a comment below. Most Humphries in the Rutherford/Cleveland County area are descendants of William Humphries I. This James (b.1796) was most likely the son of John Humphries, William Jr.’s oldest brother (source: Casey Humphries) James was the bondsman for the marriage of William II’s son David Humphries, which typically was done by a relative. Then again he was also the bondsman to the marriage of John Logan and Martha “Patsey” Harton.

James entered land on the east side of Cove Creek, Rutherford Co. in 1818. This is the western part of Rutherford County which is 50 or 60 miles from where most of William I’s family lived. James was always listed in the census as living around Robert Humphries and later Phillip Humphries [source].

Jonah Jones
As someone who has researched Jonas Medford for many years, I know that you need to search both Jonas and Jonah as they were used almost interchangeably. There is a Jonas B. Jones in Rutherford County who married Elizabeth Melton on October 8, 1834. Elizabeth was daughter of Daniel Farrar Melton and Elizabeth Norvell [source].  From the Rutherford County, N. C., Record of Estates, Re-B, page 54, there is a sale bill of Absalom Hunt deceased, 24 February 1841, which listed Jonas B. Jones, J. H. Jones, Alfred Jones and many others.

[W. Pickins?]
I would very much appreciate anyone who could help me decipher this last name! I think it might be Pickens but there just aren’t many (if any) Pickens in Rutherford County, NC during this time period.  Thanks!

This Year in History 1821

  • The U.S. purchased Florida from Spain
  • Missouri is admitted as the 24th U.S. state.
  • Mexico gains its independence from Spain
  • The Santa Fe trail is used by the first White American
  • Napoleon Bonaparte died
  • High quality cotton is introduced in Egypt
  • James Monro is sworn is for his second term as President

If you have any info about James Humphries, Jonah Jones, or can help identitfy the mystery name [W. Pickins?], please post a comment below.

About the Logan Project: I possess a box of 170 documents passed down 6 generations in the Logan family that originate from John Logan (1775-1841) of Rutherford County, NC. These documents are mainly receipts that show the various business and legal dealings of many different families from Rutherford County, NC. I will be posting these documents on this blog in chronological order. The scanned images of these documents are the copyright of Jonathan Medford. Do not redistribute these documents for the purpose of commercial gain without his expressed written permission.

Previous Post: Joseph Bowen receipt for execution against Henry Calihan October 22, 1820
Next Post:
Jail Tax Receipt January 27, 1822

Author:

Jonathan Medford is an experienced genealogist who specializes in researching North Carolina records. Contact him at jon@medfordgenetics.com.

8 thoughts on “James Humphreys receipt October 19, 1821

  1. I loved seeing this receipt. However, I would have to disagree with a couple of items.

    1. William Jr (or William II) hardly populated Rutherford/Cleveland counties by himself. To say most of the Humphries are descended from William Jr. would be false. I haven’t studied William Jr. much, but to my knowledge he only had about 5 sons. William Jr. had other brothers that contributed as much or more than William Jr. For instance, William’s older brother John had about 7 sons. Another brother Samuel, had 7 sons. William Jr. also had other brothers (David, Henry, and Anderson) whom I am less familiar with. I don’t know their involvement in the Humphries population but would assume they had some part in it.

    2. As you can see in my first point, I did not list James as a brother to William Jr. Because he isn’t. There was not a brother named James. This James is most likely the nephew of William. James (b.1796) was the son of John Humphries, William Jr.’s oldest brother.

    Please don’t take offense to my reply, but I see so much incorrect information circulate about the Humphries family. It is the result of years for poor research, and I hope little by little to dispel some of these inaccuracies.

    Casey Humphries

  2. Casey,

    I do not take offense to your reply one bit. I’ve seen so much incorrect information on my Medford ancestors that it inspired me to start a website (www.medfordgenetics.com) to help combat some of the inaccuracies. Check out this reply I had to make just yesterday to help dispel some myths: http://boards.rootsweb.com/surnames.medford/98.3.1.1/mb.ashx

    Just keep in mind that I am not a Humphries expert and never presented myself as one. Using the statement “some researchers believe” isn’t exactly a strong statement.

    I post these receipts and make requests on surname message boards in an effort to reach out to those who can give us a more accurate background on the people found in these receipts and I always plea for more info at the end of each post.

    Thank you for setting the record straight. I’ll edit the post accordingly.

  3. James Humphries is my gg-grandfather. He was born in NC and moved to SC, then Ala. I have been told he died in Tenn. His son Thomas (b.1855) moved from Ala, to Tn and lived most of his life in Ark, where he died. Thomas had a son names James and the name has been in the family forever. I can’t find a census with James and his son Thomas but I find a census with James and his mother. James was married to a Watkins and Sarah Morgan.
    Joan Humphrey Sprague

Leave a Reply

