Posted in Burchett, Parker, Wood

P.J. Parker’s Receipt

72-1

Recd of John Logan ten dollars in part for sawing plank    March 12th 1832

attest                                                                           P.J. Parker
W.W. Logan

You may have noticed that many of these documents appear to have been folded up and that I rarely post the opposite side of the paper (even though I have scanned both sides). Usually, the name that I give documents is the same name that John Logan wrote on the back of the receipts. Also, sometimes I have a hard time reading the writing on the inside of the documents, but the outside will clearly state the person’s name, dollar amount and what the receipt was for. Without the back of this document, I’m not sure I would have been able to identify the first two initials, P.J.

I am pretty positive that this receipt was written by Parkerson J. Parker. I found an 1840 census record for him that listed his age as being between 20 and 29 years of age. He married Prudence Wood on 30 Apr 1827. T.F. Burchett was a witness on their marriage certificate, which is a name that will come up later in this blog series. That is the extent of what I was able to find on P.J. This receipt was for the purpose of sawing plank. I wonder if he had a saw mill or if this was hand done work.

I hope I have the name W.W. Logan correct. The last name almost appears to be something slightly different, like Lodger. I was not able to track down any information on who this would be. I assume it would be a close relative of John’s but a quick scan of sons, brothers, and nephews yielded no results. Any ideas would be appreciated!

72-2

If you can find any additional information about Parkerson J. Parker, Prudence Wood Parker or W.W. Logan, please share in the comments below. 

About the Logan Project: I possess a box of 170 documents passed down 6 generations in the Logan family that originate from John Logan (1775-1841) of Rutherford County, NC. These documents are mainly receipts that show the various business and legal dealings of many different families from Rutherford County, NC. I will be posting these documents on this blog in chronological order. The scanned images of these documents are the copyright of Jonathan Medford. You are welcome to download them for personal use. Do not redistribute these documents for the purpose of commercial gain without his expressed written permission. If you would like to start reading them from the first document, you can start here.

Author:

Jonathan Medford is an experienced genealogist who specializes in researching North Carolina records. Contact him at jon@medfordgenetics.com.

One thought on “P.J. Parker’s Receipt

Leave a Reply

